National significance of natural history collections in Switzerland

Archives and resources for modern science

Biological and geoscience collections form an important part of our rich scientific heritage and provide the basis for much of what we know today about our planet and how we humans have influenced it. Natural history collections help us to understand our past and present better, thereby providing a basis for predicting the future. They also serve as biobanks for preserving the Earth’s organismic and genomic diversity, and must not only be maintained, but also supplemented so that scientists can continue to document and explore life on Earth. As new investigative techniques emerge, we can discover more from studying such intact and well-preserved collections.

National significance of Natural History Collections in Switzerland
Image: Akademien Schweiz

Switzerland’s natural history collections consisting of approximately 61 million specimens preserved in public museums, botanical gardens, universities and similar institutions constitute a national treasure, containing a wealth of stored information for science and society. Researchers’ access to these collections is often hampered because the determination and digital inventorying of specimens in the collections are incomplete.

This report describes the natural history collections in Switzerland and their value for research, education and the public sector. It also makes recommendations for measures and other steps to be taken to preserve and valorise these collections. Making these collections digitally accessible and developing them further, will greatly benefit Swiss science and society generally.

Edition / Volume: Vol. 14, N°2, 2019
Pages: 36
Standard identifier: DOI: 10.5281/zenodo.1481727

Source: Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences (2019) National significance of natural history collections in Switzerland. Swiss Academies Reports 14 (2).

Related topics

Entomologische Sammlung
Schweiz nutzt naturwissenschaftliche Sammlungen schlecht

Die Schweiz nutzt ihre mit über 60 Millionen Objekten umfangreichen naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen schlecht. Gegenwärtig sind nur 17 Prozent der Objekte digital erfasst und damit für wissenschaftliche Auswertungen wirklich zugänglich. Dies

Image: Naturhistorisches Museum Basel
Nationale Bedeutung naturwissenschaftlicher Sammlungen der Schweiz
Nationale Bedeutung naturwissenschaftlicher Sammlungen der Schweiz

Landwirtschaft, Umweltschutz, Verkehrsinfrastrukturen – viele Erkenntnisse stützen auf Wissen aus naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen. In der Schweiz lagern über 60 Millionen Objekte verteilt in allen Kantonen. Sie sind für die moderne Forschung

Categories

  • Geology

Contact

SCNAT
Platform Biology
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 38
E-mail

English

National significance of natural history collections in Switzerland

Archives and resources for modern science

Les collections biologiques et de géosciences constituent une importante part de notre riche patrimoine scientifique et fournissent la base de ce que nous connaissons aujourd'hui de notre planète ainsi que de la façon dont nous, êtres humains, l'avons influencée. Les collections de sciences naturelles nous aident à mieux comprendre notre passé et notre présent et fournissent ainsi une base pour prédire l'avenir. Elles servent également de biobanques pour la préservation de la diversité des organismes et de la diversité génomique sur Terre. Ces collections ne doivent pas seulement être conservées, mais également complétées pour que les scientifiques puissent continuer à documenter et explorer la vie sur Terre. Avec l’émergence de nouvelles techniques d’investigation et des collections bien conservées, nous pouvons générer ainsi beaucoup de nouvelles connaissances.

National significance of Natural History Collections in Switzerland
Image : Akademien Schweiz

Les collections de sciences naturelles en Suisse contiennent environ 61 millions de spécimens qui sont conservés dans des musées publics, des jardins botaniques, des universités et des institutions similaires. Ces collections constituent un trésor national et sont une source d’informations pour la science et la société. L’accès de ces collections pour les chercheuses et chercheurs est cependant souvent entravé car la détermination et la classification des spécimens sont incomplètes et seul 17 pourcents des données d’objets sont digitalisées.

Ce rapport décrit les collections de sciences naturelles en Suisse et leur valeur pour la recherche, la formation et le secteur public. Il fait également des recommandations sur les mesures et autres étapes à mettre en place pour préserver et valoriser les collections existantes. Donner un accès digital à ces collections et les enrichir seront des bénéfices considérables pour la science en Suisse et la société en général.

Source: Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences (2019) National significance of natural history collections in Switzerland. Swiss Academies Reports 14 (2).

Sujets correspondents

Collection entomologique
La Suisse fait un mauvais usage de ses collections scientifiques

La Suisse tend à faire mauvais usage de ses vastes collections de sciences naturelles, lesquelles contiennent plus de 60 millions d'objets. À l'heure actuelle, seulement 17 % des objets sont

Image : Naturhistorisches Museum Basel
L’importance nationale des collections suisses de sciences naturelles
L’importance nationale des collections suisses de sciences naturelles

Agriculture, protection de l’environnement, infrastructures de transport : de nombreuses découvertes dans ces domaines sont fondées sur des connaissances provenant des collections de sciences naturelles. Plus de 60 millions d’objets

Catégories

  • Géologie

Contact

SCNAT
Plateforme Biologie
Maison des Académies
Case postale
3001 Berne

+41 31 306 93 38
E-mail

Anglais